Our Curriculum

  • EYFS

    The UK Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a play-based curriculum for children from birth to five years, which allows children to explore and learn in an environment that is secure and safe, yet challenging.

    Within the EYFS Framework practitioners provide activities and make assessment judgements based on the seven areas of learning:

    3 Prime Areas and 4 Specific Areas

    • Communication and Language
    • Physical Development
    • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
    • Literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Understanding the World
    • Expressive Arts and Design

    When planning and guiding activities practitioners will reflect upon the different ways that children learn and ensure they utilize this within their practice.

    The Characteristics of Effective learning are:

    Playing and Exploring

    Supports children’s engagement and investigation and to experience things through being willing to ‘have a go’

    Active Learning

    Support Children’s motivation to learn by helping develop their concentration, ability and will to keep trying when challenges occur and celebration of completing a task.

    Creating and Thinking Critically

    Supports children’s thinking skills through developing ideas, making links between differing ideas and create strategies for completing a task.

    Our nursery staffs continuously developing new and exciting ways of encouraging child development in a safe and stimulating environment. Childcare initiatives have been developed by our Childcare and Curriculum team in line with the British Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) helping to improve key skills at every level.